Fresh Ginger Iced Ginger Snaps

These things are totally to die for.  I had to take the rest in to work they were killing me. I must have eaten 10 the first day I made them.  Simple ingredients and simple techniques are sometimes the best and easiest thing to do.  

I took my basic gingersnap recipe.  I love this recipe, they are soft or crispy depending on how long you keep them in the oven.  I like them soft when iced.  The icing is just a little confectioners sugar, some milk, dash of salr and fresh grated ginger to taste… strongly flavored and slightly sweet, the icing hardens and wonderfully contrasts the softness of the cookie!

Ingredients
1 cup white sugar
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup shortening
1 egg
2 cups flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp ground cloves
1 tsp allspice
2-3 tbsp ground ginger (yes tablespoons)
1 tbsp ground cinnamon
1/4 cup milk

Icing
2 cups confectioners sugar
3 tbsp fresh grated ginger with the juice it produces from grating
pinch kosher salt
milk (this is to a certain consistency so humidity and all that effects it)

Preheat oven to 350. Cream sugar, salt and shortening.  Add egg and blend in.  In a seperate bowl mix together the dry  ingredients to get them blended together.  Add half the dry ingredients, then the milk and then the last of the dry mixing lightly between each addition. 

Drop by rounded tsp fulls onto a stoneware or parchment lined sheet.  
Bake until set.  Again this is a personal preference.  I dont even have a specific time written down on my recipe card.  I would say it was 10-12 minutes for soft, 15-18 for crisper. 
Make the icing by mixing the ingredients until you get the desired consistency.   Then frost the cooled cookies!

Then try your best to not eat them…. they are truly evil!   Do you see how they called to me.. that one in the bottom left corner was screaming to me…..

so i ate it!!

Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

