Putting up Squash for Freezing

I love squash.  I am the only one in the house who loves it though.  😦  I keep telling Rob he doesnt know what he is missing but he just looks at me and gives me the look!  You all know the look.. the special one that husbands give when they are not finding you funny.  LOL   So anyway… my mom gave me a laundry basket of squash.. yes a while laundry basket..  There were three kinds, Hubbard (right), Acorn (center) and Butternut (left).

Split them all in half and seed them.. With Hubbard you need to split it, seed it and then break it into more manageable chunks, for this one I got 10 chunks!!  


Put in a foil lined pan at 350 degrees and put a 1 tsp of brown sugar on each one (feel free to omit the sugar but I like it slightly sweet).  Bake for however long it takes for it to get soft.. each one is different.  Ripeness and thickness effect baking time.

Scoop into a bowl and let cool a bit.   This is what i got with the first two batches.. I thought it would be big enough.

Once you have it all done and it has cooled a bit, whip it up to mix the flavors of the different squash and to get any large lumps out. 


Then divide up into ziploc bags for freezing.  I freeze mine into 2 1/2 cup packets which I then use to make my something very special……. Butternut Squash Stuffed Shells.  That laundry basket of squash got me 12- 2 1/2 cup packets!!!  WOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOO.


I love putting things up for future use because you then always have a way to plan ahead.  It takes 2 hours to do this most of the time…. if you are doing this with just a couple squash, that is a lot of time for a little return.  Doing it this way you can get enough to last me the year and it only took me about 3 hours! 

Happy Cooking!!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Moroccan Curry Butternut Squash Soup « Musings of a Part Time Housewife

Leave a Reply

