Snickerdoodles

So this year we had a cookie swap at work.  It was so much fun.  I love making things and sharing them with friends.  This one was great because so many had participate.  I was particularly excited to see listed Snickerdoodles!  I love them, my family loves them and most of all my mother loves them.  I had a recipe but it didnt wow me.  THis one did.   We always get the recipes and my friend Lilly is the one who made these.  YUMMO  I doubled the recipe and it made for slightly crispier cookie.  The taste is great but if you like them a bit chewier, dont double, make two batches. 

Ingredients
Yield about 4 1/2 dozen

1 cup butter, room temperature
1 1/2 cup sugar
2 large eggs
2 3/4 cups flour
2 tsp cream of tartar
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp kosher salt
Cinnamon and sugar

Preheat oven to 350.  Cream butter, sugar and eggs thoroughly in a large bowl.

Combine the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt in a seperate bowl.

Blend dry ingredients into the butter mixture, making a stiff dough.. chill for 20 minutes.


Make a sugar mixture of equal parts sugar and cinnamon.  I always start off with a little cause you can make more.  Form into 1 inch balls and roll into your sugar mixure.


Place on your PC stoneware or a parchment lined cookie sheet.  Bake for 10-13minutes depending onyour stove and your desired softness.  


These will have to be hidden if you want them for an event, or made the day before cause they are addictive!   I had to hide them… cause they kept disappearing on me!  I wont say who but they were born in 1993!!  you do the math..

Happy  Baking!!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carrie
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 09:03:34

    I love snickerdoodles.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

