My Meatballs

I call these my meatballs because there is 5,000 different recipes out there to make meatballs.   There are different ingredients, techniques and special secrets.  Everyone has a favorite type, method or way to serve them.   And chances are they are all great.  I just happen to think mine are too, and so does my family. 

Like so many personal recipes, these meatballs are a mosh up of different recipes I have seen over the years and what I like in meatballs, what I like for flavors and what the family enjoys.  They started out as my moms meatballs and worked out to this, after much much trial and error.  Rob especially likes the fact that they are not greasy.   I especially like that I know what is going into them.  That is my biggest problem with most store bought stuff.  If a “recipe” has less than 1% of an ingredient in it, you dont have to list it.  They could put two drops of rat poison but since it is only 0,5% you will never know.  I know that is being dramatic and you can have that with your ingredients as well but I just enjoy making it myself!

Ingredients
yield about 10 dozen 1 oz meatballs
2 1/2 lbs 91or 93% lean ground beef
2 1/2 lbs 93% lean ground turkey
2 lbs ground italian sausage (sweet or hot, I use sweet)
10 slices whole grain bread (white, wheat or in this case oatmeal)
1 onion
6-7+ cloves garlic (I could add three bulbs and Rob would think there was enough)
1/4 cup italian seasoning
1/4 cup garlic romano seasoning (if you cant find this you can omit it, just adds a bit of flavor)
3 eggs
S & P

Cast of Characters

Preheat you oven to 350 and line two sheet pans with aluminum foil.  Spray racks with Pam or spritz with oil.  In a large bowl, put your meats, taking the sausage out of the casings (or you can buy it not in casings but it is like $.20 a pound more so I buy it linked).

While one kid is ripping the bread up into little pieces you can get the garlic and onions minced.  You dont want huge chunks.  I am always reminded of Eddie Murphy talking about homemade burgers in a skit I heard as a child.  So I am pretty good about mincing them up fine. 

While one kid is ripping up bread into little pieces, the other one can be grinding up pepper.  We use a mortar and pestle to grind up larger amounts of pepper.  It takes only a couple minutes but I love the flavor it imparts and it is much faster than trying to use a standard peppermill.   I will be writing a post about how to care for you mortar for another time but for now here is the finished product.

Add your minced garlic, onion, salt and pepper (I use about 1 tablespoon of pepper and 1 1/2 tablespoons of salt, but use to your taste), italian seasoning and garlic romano blend.

Add your bread.

And then the eggs.

And now you can mix.  Nik loves this step for some reason.  Aaron would rather clean the mortar.  LOL 

Once thoroughly mixed it is time to roll the balls.  I measured them out so I could add them to my points tracker for WW (4 meatballs is a whopping 7 points but I will deal, I love em) so they would be equal in size.   If you dont care about points or any of that, then just make them the size you like them. 

And put them on the racks like this…..

Until they look like this….

And bake then at 375 for 25-30 minutes until they look like this…..

Freeze them and use them for anything that requires meatballs.  For this batch part was given as a thank you to a friend who picked me up from my surgery and the rest are currently in the freezer.  I make these large batches and it is enough for three meals for my family.  We use them for spaghetti and meatballs, meatball subs, layer into a lasagna, or just eat them as is.  I dont always need sauce.   Here is what they look like all frozen and in the freezer ready for some night we need a quick dinner!

I hope that you liked this recipe.  I can say for me it has been years in the changing.  I might change it up again to make it a bit more low fat but to be honest, as often as we have them, and the fact that 4 meatballs is alot for me….. I think they will be keeping their place in The Box, as is.

Happy Cooking!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Punken
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 12:55:21

    I never thought of putting sausage in my meatballs…what a great idea…my hubs will love that……..ps love your recipies:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

