Slow Roast Brisket with Onion Gravy

I am now about 9 days out from my foot surgery.  I am still a bit sore, sick of studying for my HESI Nursing School Exit Exam, and sick of being cooped up in the house.  The doctor gave me my driving ability back a couple days ago but said I should still be on the crutches.  Okay….. not sure how that makes sense but okay.

We had Aaron take us grocery shopping a couple days ago and I found two nice looking briskets that were about the same thickness and had little fat!  I was happy.  SO I got them home and started looking for a good new recipe.  I had my standard rub I have used in the past that I like but I needed a break from studying and wanted something different.  I found it, in an old Better Homes and Garden recipe I had ripped out over Christmas break.  I do that alot.  Recycle the magazine and just take out the recipes I want to try.  I literally have two paper boxes full of clippings and a huge stack of magazines to go through.  Rob just shakes his head in disgust when I come home from work and have yet another pile of magazines.  LOL

I totally get that from my Mom.  I will go and visit her in Vermont and she will have a stack of magazines for me to go through.  My Dad is not too adventurous when it comes to food but with Moms not so gentle reminder that he will eat what she cooks, he is branching out.  He still will not eat chicken but is definitely not a strict beef/potato or pasta/vegetable man anymore.  I love it. 

Now.. onto brisket.  It is a wonderful meat.  You can totally impart yummy flavor to it.  You can slow cook it and it is always juicy!  Since it is a long fibered meat it is important to slice it against the grain and you will have perfection. 

Ingredients
Total cooking and prep time: 3 1/2 hours  at 325
4-5 lbs of fresh beef brisket (not brined)
2-3 large onions
6 cloves of garlic
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup liquid smoke ( I had mesquite on hand)
1/4 cup worcestershire sauce
1/4 cup steak sauce
1/4 cup strong brewed coffee, or simmer 1 cup until it is reduced like I did
S & P

Cast of Characters

Spray your pan.  I used an aluminum since it was what I had upstairs and I didnt want to go to the basement.  Slice the onions and garlic.

Once sliced make a bed in the bottom of the pan.

This is to rest your brisket on.  You want the pan to be a pretty good size fit for the meat or else it wont get enough of the contact with the juice.

Mix together the remaining ingredients.  I used about 1/2 tsp salt and pepper each. 

And pour over the brisket and onions.

Cover tightly with 2 layers of aluminum foil and put into the oven for 3 hours.

When the timer goes off, remove from the oven and let sit for a few minutes.  Take off the foil and with tongs remove from the juice, put on a plate and cover with the aluminum foil.

Remove the onions and garlic from the juices.

Using a stick wand and some of the pan juices puree into a nice thick gravy.  Add more juice to find the correct balance of thickness.  It will not be pretty, but it sure does taste good.

Cut the meat across the grain for the best tenderness.


Plate up with your fave starch and veg and add some of the lovely gravy.  Heaven!

I will admit I was very skeptical about the gravy.  I mean the ingredients were strong flavored and when we snuck a lick of the broth makings before we put it in the oven, well lets just say, I wasnt sure it was going to make it into the blog.  HAHA I was wrong.  This was fantastic!   The gravy was actually sweet and oniony and very flavorful.  The meat had all the flavors coursing through it and it was…  wonderful!  I cannot think of any other way to describe it.  I totally enjoyed it.  I cannot wait until tomorrow for a wonderful sandwich.  And here is the surprising part.  Since I used a very lean cut of brisket and had only 4 ounces with a 1/4 cup of gravy, the WW recipe builder says that this is only 5 points.  Ummmmm  hello happy girl. 

Happy Roasting!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 09:35:06

    Made this last weekend…mmmm really good. I wasn’t sure about the gravy either, but it was delicious. Definitely a recipe to go in my keep file.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

